First Time Driver
Appointments are required for an on the road driving skills tests and can be scheduled by calling our office at 850-892-8121.Testing is NOT conducted at our Freeport location.
You will need to provide the following:
- Proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (The course provider will electronically submit this information and it will be available to all Florida Driver License Offices.) Link to providers: TLSAE Providers To verify the course has been completed, please use this link: Traffic School Completion Check
- If you are under 18 and are not married, a parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. If the parent or guardian is unable to be present, the Parental Consent form must must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor
- Real ID documents must be provided at the time of issuance. Please see list here: Required Documents
Click here to download the Class E License Handbook: Handbooks & Manuals
If testing in office, please arrive by 2:30pm to allow time for test completion. The 50 question knowledge exam is administered on the computer. Audio, written, and other testing options are available on request. If you require special accommodations, please contact our office for more information at 850-892-8121.
The prepare for the Class E Knowledge Exam, the Florida Department of Highway and Safety offers a practice test: Practice Test
Any applicant under the age of 18 can take the Class E Knowledge Exam online. There are approved third party administrators that provide this service.
Florida’s Driver Licensing Requirements for individuals under the age of 18
Phase I- Learner’s License
- Minimum age requirement for Learner’s License- 15 Years Old
- Drivers must always have a licensed driver 21 years or older in the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- For the first three months, driving is limited to daylight hours only.
- After three months, hours are extended to 10 p.m.
- Teen must hold Learner’s License for 12 months conviction-free.
- A knowledge exam is required to be taken. The exam consists of 50 multiple choice scenario-based questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. Individuals must answer 40 questions correctly to pass. Those preparing to take the knowledge exam are strongly encouraged to study the handbook.
- A Vision Test will also be given using an eye machine. To pass, you must have 20/40 (or better) vision in each and both eyes, with or without corrective lenses.
Phase II- Intermediate Operator’s License
- Once teens receive an Operator’s License, driving hours are based on their age.
- At 16, driving is allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.*
- At 17, driving is allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.*
*At any other time, 16 and 17 year old drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the closest seat to the right, or be traveling to or from work.
Renew License Online