Concealed Weapon License
The Walton County Tax Collector's Office has partnered with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to offer citizens the opportunity to apply for a concealed weapon license or renew a current license locally. This service is offered by appointment only. Please call 850-892-8121 to schedule.
Determine if you are eligible for a concealed weapon license by reading the eligibility requirements or answering a few simple questions to determine eligibility
To be eligible for a Florida concealed weapon or firearm license:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm.
- Unless you are serving overseas in the United States Armed Forces, you must currently reside in the United States and be a U.S. citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service. If you are serving overseas in the U.S. Armed Forces, submit a copy of your deployment documentation with your application. Those who are Resident Aliens must provide a valid Permanent Resident Alien card.
What should you bring with you if you're a first time applicant in Florida?
Your photo and fingerprints will be taken during the processing
- Picture ID - driver license or state-issued identification card
- Copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms you are proficient with a firearm; if you are a veteran, a DD214 noting an honorable discharge will suffice for firearms training documentation; active duty military can bring in a copy of their current orders;
- $119.00 Acceptable forms of payment include check, cash, debit or credit card. (A convenience fee applies to debit and credit cards) A discount is offered to law enforcement officers with a letter on agency letterhead stating you are currently employed in a law enforcement position.
- If you have ever been arrested, you should bring with you certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you.
What to bring when renewing:
You can only renew 90 days before your expiration date.
- Current license or renewal letter from the Florida Department of Agriculture;
- A picture ID. A driver license or state-issued identification card is perfectly acceptable.
- If you fail to renew your license by its expiration date, you may renew it up to six months after it has expired. However, there is a late fee of $15 for renewing after the expiration date.
By law, The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services must either issue a license or deny an application within 90 days of receiving a complete application. Veterans and active duty military applications will be reviewed within 30 days.
You can check on the status of your application online
Need a replacement license?
If your license has been lost, stolen or destroyed, you can obtain a replacement license by contacting the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Learn more about acceptable firearms training
As a government agency, we DO NOT recommend any training course over another. Below is a list of firearm training courses provided to our office by firearm instructors.
|Fight with a Gun – DeFuniak Springs|
|Clyde Caceres / 503-516-7278|
|Bullets and Bones – DeFuniak Springs|
|Enforcement Firearms – DeFuniak Springs|
|Destin Concealed Carry – Bay, Walton and Okaloosa County|
|Joe Glover / 850-865-7556|
|Walton County Sheriff's Office - DeFuniak Springs|
|Holmes County Office – Bonifay|
|Sight N - Bay, Walton, and Okaloosa County|
|Keri Casavant / 850-532-2337|